A doctor planning to work as a UAE General Practitioner usually asks two things first: am I eligible, and what will each step cost? This page answers both for the three main regulators, DHA in Dubai, DoH in Abu Dhabi and MOHAP, using only the amounts each authority publishes. For the full licensing walkthrough read our UAE GP licence exam guide, and when you are ready to revise, the Myndaq UAE GP course covers the exam itself.
Amounts below are as published by each authority on the pages linked at the end, checked on 16 September 2026. Fees change, so confirm at checkout.
The facility's regulator decides which rules apply; our DHA vs DoH vs MOHAP comparison explains how to check.
The eligibility baseline all three share
DHA, DoH, MOHAP and the Sharjah Health Authority work from one document, the Unified Healthcare Professional Qualification Requirements (PQR), now in its third version. For the General Practitioner title it sets these conditions:
- Degree - MBBS, MBChB or an equivalent qualification from an accredited institution, with at least five years of study excluding the internship year.
- Internship - one year after graduation. Without evidence of an internship, two more years of experience are required.
- Experience - two years of clinical experience after the internship for graduates of programmes outside the UAE. It must be hands-on clinical work done as a licensed professional in salaried or contractual employment; teaching and non-clinical work do not count.
- Accepted fields - cardiology, critical care medicine, emergency medicine, family medicine, general surgery, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynaecology, and paediatrics.
- Licence - a valid licence or registration in your home country or country of last employment, covering the experience you claim.
- Good standing - a Good Standing Certificate no more than six months old when you apply, issued by the regulator in the country of last employment.
- Gap of practice - a break of three years or more triggers CME credit and clinical training requirements, and a non-UAE national generally cannot apply after a gap of more than five years.
- Attempts - three attempts at the licensing exam across the authorities, with one possible final attempt at a different authority after three failures.
DHA Dubai
Who is eligible
DHA applies the unified PQR above. Its licensing manual (version 1.3, July 2025) adds a rule for UK medical graduates: those who have completed Foundation Year 1 and 2 need a third year of post-graduation experience before applying for the GP title.
Fee items DHA publishes
- Review Registration Eligibility - AED 200 credentialing fee for physicians, plus Knowledge and Innovation fees added at checkout. This review is the route for applicants whose Sheryan self-assessment result is 'not eligible'. It takes 10 working days and does not give the right to practise.
- DataFlow PSV - amount not published on the pages we checked. DHA's FAQ fee link no longer loads and DataFlow's DHA page lists no price, so check at checkout. A new report takes 15 working days from payment.
- PSV report transfer - AED 300 when your DataFlow report was issued for another authority. DHA quotes five working days and may still ask for extra documents to be verified.
- Licensing exam, General Practice, code GEN5331 - USD 280. Payment goes to Prometric by American Express, Mastercard or Visa.
- Get Registered - AED 200 credentialing fee for physicians, plus Knowledge and Innovation fees at checkout. Average processing time is five working days.
- Licence activation for a full-time physician - AED 3,000 for one year, AED 5,000 for two years or AED 7,500 for three years. A part-time physician licence is AED 3,000. The hiring facility's representative submits this step.
Registration steps and exam booking
- Complete the Sheryan self-assessment for the General Practitioner title.
- Submit your documents to DataFlow for primary source verification.
- Take the licensing exam if it is required. DHA's manual allows PSV and the exam to run at the same time.
- Submit the Get Registered application once the PSV report is out and the exam is passed.
- DHA reviews the file and may add an oral assessment.
- A DHA-licensed facility activates your registration into a practising licence.
Sheryan allocates an eligibility ID, and you book your seat on the Prometric DHA site. The General Practice paper has 150 questions in three hours with a 60% pass score. Our Prometric exam day guide covers the test-centre routine.
Validity, rescheduling and attempts
- Reschedule or cancel at least five calendar days before the exam.
- Exam fees are non-refundable, including after rescheduling, cancellation or a no-show, though a cancellation or no-show is not counted as a failed attempt.
- Results appear in Sheryan as Pass or Fail within two working days.
- Attempts - three, though DHA may reduce this to one or two if its panel finds a major competency gap. Failing the third attempt blocks you from reapplying for a DHA licence for two years. A fourth attempt with DHA may be allowed if you submit a declaration letter confirming you have not failed with any other regulatory authority in the UAE.
- Registration is valid for one year from issue and does not let you practise until a facility activates it.
- Eligibility ID validity is not stated in the DHA manuals we checked; confirm it in Sheryan.
DoH Abu Dhabi
Who is eligible
The DoH Licensing Procedural Manual, issued with circular 151 of August 2024, has a General Practitioner page. It follows the PQR and spells out three points; the rotation list and the two-year limit on your last day of experience are DoH-specific detail:
- the one-year internship must include internal medicine, general surgery, obstetrics and gynaecology, and paediatrics, and must be completed after you pass the final MBBS exam;
- without internship evidence, four years of experience are required in total;
- your last day of experience must be no more than two years old when you apply.
Fee items DoH publishes
The GP page of that manual lists these items:
- PSV package - AED 1,260 for general physicians, with a published timeframe of 24 working days.
- Application - AED 100.
- Assessment - AED 570. The manual's examination page splits exam charges into a booking fee, AED 100 for physicians, paid in TAMM, and a scheduling fee that varies by title, paid on Pearson VUE. Both are charged per attempt.
- Licence - AED 2,500 for one year or AED 3,250 for two years, with AED 100 added as an additional application fee.
Malpractice insurance fees may apply, and the manual dates from 2024, so check TAMM before paying.
Registration steps and exam booking
- Create a TAMM account with UAE PASS. The manual shows a mobile-and-email route for non-residents.
- Complete PSV through DataFlow.
- Submit the licence application; DoH review takes five working days.
- Pass the exam. The GP paper has 120 multiple-choice questions in 2.5 hours, in English.
- Link to a facility within three months if you were not linked at step 1, or the application expires.
- Clear security and pay for the licence, which is issued instantly after payment.
After approval, Pearson VUE's DoH page says you pay the pre-booking fee in TAMM and are then redirected to Pearson VUE to pick a date, time and centre.
Validity, rescheduling and attempts
- Exam window - six months from credentialing approval. If you have not passed by then, the application closes and you must submit a new one.
- Reschedule a written exam at least 72 hours before the booked date at no extra fee. The booking fee is refunded only if you cancel at least 72 hours ahead.
- A no-show does not count as an attempt, but the booking fee is not refunded.
- Results are posted on TAMM as Pass or Fail within 24 hours.
- A pass stays valid for five years, subject to the PQR; a gap of practice can still require a resit.
- Attempts - you must not have failed the assessment for the selected title more than four times in total: three attempts under one UAE health authority, plus one last attempt under another authority.
- The licence runs for the term you pay for - one year or two.
MOHAP
Who is eligible
MOHAP's evaluation page states that GPs who graduated outside the UAE need at least two years of clinical experience after the internship, supported by a valid professional licence and a Good Standing Certificate dated within the past six months. Training does not exempt you from this experience, and training completed within the UAE does not count towards it.
Fees and steps
MOHAP's evaluation page, as checked on 16 September 2026, does not list amounts. It refers only to the applicable fees, payable before submission, and to DataFlow verification fees, without publishing either amount. No MOHAP GP exam fee is published there either.
- Apply for Health Professional Evaluation in the MOHAP Evaluation System.
- Pay the applicable fees; MOHAP reviews the request and sends it to DataFlow.
- An evaluation officer decides whether you need an exam.
- If so, sit the Prometric exam. Results are generated automatically as Pass or Fail against a 60% minimum; individual questions and answers are not disclosed.
- Receive the evaluation certificate, find a job offer, and have the employer submit the professional licence request.
Validity, rescheduling and attempts
MOHAP allows a maximum of three exam attempts and states that a fourth is not allowed. The evaluation page does not publish rescheduling deadlines or how long the evaluation certificate stays valid, so follow the instructions in your booking notice and certificate.
Budgeting without guesswork
There is no single UAE GP licence fee. Budget for these separate lines:
- the authority's application or credentialing fee;
- DataFlow PSV, plus any extra-document or transfer charges (our DataFlow guide explains transfers and appeals);
- the exam, per attempt, in US dollars for DHA and dirhams for DoH;
- the licence or activation fee, which depends on the duration you choose;
- insurance, translations and attestation, which the authorities do not price.
Quick answers
How much is the DHA GP exam fee?
DHA's assessment guideline lists USD 280 for General Practice, code GEN5331. It is paid to Prometric and cannot be refunded.
Can I take the DHA exam before DataFlow finishes?
Yes. DHA's licensing manual allows PSV and the exam to run in parallel, but Get Registered waits for both.
How long do I have to pass the DoH exam?
Six months from credentialing approval. After that the application closes automatically.

