The Saudi Pharmacist Licensure Examination is the pharmacist licensure examination run by the Saudi Commission for Health Specialties. SCFHS classifies pharmacists as Trainee Pharmacist, Pharmacist, Senior Pharmacist and Consultant Pharmacist, and its fee schedule shows each grade reached by direct decision, evaluation or examination. SCFHS does not publish a statement on whether the examination route differs by grade, so this guide does not claim one way or the other; the applicant guide below describes a single SPLE paper and is the document to work from.
Every figure in this guide comes from the official SCFHS and Prometric sources linked below - last verified 20 September 2026. Where SCFHS publishes nothing, this guide says so rather than filling the gap.
What the paper looks like
The SPLE is 200 computer-based multiple-choice questions, each with four options from which you choose the best answer. They are delivered in two parts of 100 questions, and each part is allotted 120 minutes of testing time. A 30-minute break is scheduled between the two parts.
Two consequences follow from that shape, and candidates routinely underestimate both.
The first is pacing. One hundred questions in 120 minutes is about 72 seconds per question, sustained twice. That is comfortable for recall items and tight for a calculation you have to set up from scratch. If pharmaceutical calculations are slow for you in practice, they will be slower under a clock that has already been running for ninety minutes.
The second is stamina. Four hours of testing plus a scheduled break means you are at the centre for something like four and a half hours before check-in and seating are counted. Sitting one 100-question part at a time in practice is not the same exercise as sitting two with a break in between.
The 200 questions may include up to 10% pilot items. The applicant guide does not say which ones they are, and there is nothing useful you can do about it except answer every question as though it counts.
The blueprint
The exam is built to four published domain weights, which SCFHS says "may differ up to +/-5% at each level":
- Basic Biomedical Sciences - 10%
- Pharmaceutical Sciences - 35%
- Social, Behavioral and Administrative Sciences - 20%
- Clinical Sciences - 35%
Clinical and Pharmaceutical Sciences are about 70% of the paper between them, so most preparation time belongs there. But the 20% Social, Behavioral and Administrative block is the one an internationally-educated pharmacist is least likely to have covered already, because the applicant guide's blueprint splits it into ten sections that a general pharmacy course may cover only lightly - health care delivery systems and public health, population-based care and pharmacoepidemiology, pharmacoeconomics and humanistic outcomes, pharmacy practice management, pharmacy law and regulatory affairs, biostatistics and research design, ethical decision making, professional communication, social and behavioral aspects of pharmacy practice, and medication dispensing and distribution systems. SCFHS does not state how much of this content is Saudi-specific, so work from the blueprint sections themselves rather than assuming a general textbook covers them.
A fuller breakdown of what sits inside each domain is in the SPLE blueprint explained.
Marking and the 536 pass score
Marking: SCFHS does not publish a marking rule for wrong answers. The applicant guide gives the pass score but says nothing about a penalty for guessing, so read the on-screen instructions at the test centre before deciding whether to leave anything blank.
Reporting is where it gets misunderstood. SCFHS reports the SPLE on a scaled range of 200 to 800, and the pass score is 536. That scale is not a percentage. The commission publishes no table converting raw marks into scaled ones, which means nobody outside SCFHS can tell you how many of the 200 questions 536 corresponds to.
This matters commercially, because several preparation products advertise a predicted scaled score. Any such prediction is invented. The honest way to judge readiness is percentage correct broken down by blueprint domain, which tells you which domain to revise next - something a single predicted number cannot do even if it were real.
Who can sit it, and how often
The current SPLE applicant guide says eligible candidates may sit the exam up to four times a year, counted from the first attempt, until they pass. A candidate may not sit the test twice in the same testing window, so those four attempts have to be spread across separate windows. After passing, two further attempts are permitted to improve the mark, for a better chance in residency selection. If you are aiming at a training programme, a pass is the floor rather than the goal.
The SCFHS licensure exams page currently describes attempts differently. It says a candidate who passes the first attempt is granted two improvement attempts, and one who does not pass is granted two additional attempts; that after a failure, exam opportunities may be repeated one year from the date of the first attempt; and that the annual improvement attempt can be submitted once per training year when the classification and registration requirements are met. The two official descriptions do not match, so confirm the rule that applies to you with SCFHS before booking rather than relying on a figure quoted on a preparation site, including this one.
Eligibility extends to holders of a recognised primary degree from an accredited health science programme, candidates who have commenced training during the internship year, and students who are one year away from graduation. Sitting it early is worth considering: the material is closest to hand in final year, and an early attempt leaves room for an improvement attempt before applications.
Registration and how sittings work
Registration runs through Mumaris+, the SCFHS professional platform. SCFHS publishes a Professional Practice Licensure Exams Eligibility service at SAR 120, with a stated duration of five business days, as published by SCFHS when checked on 20 September 2026; that page lists its target audience as interns, and SCFHS does not publish a separate figure for other applicant categories, so check the fee and route that your Mumaris+ account shows before paying. The exam itself is delivered at Prometric test centres inside the Kingdom and abroad.
The exam is not offered continuously. SCFHS approves a set of testing windows and publishes them with a registration status for each, and each window has its own registration period that closes before the window opens; SCFHS also states that these dates are subject to updates. Because a candidate may not sit twice in the same window, the window you register for determines how soon a further attempt is possible. Work from the SCFHS licensure exams page in the official sources below, which carries the current periods and their registration status, and confirm both in your Mumaris+ account before paying.
Results are not instant. The applicant guide says they are announced within two to six weeks of the end of the test window, not of your own test date.
What to do with all this
A workable sequence looks like this.
Start by establishing where you actually are, domain by domain, rather than by overall percentage - a 68% that hides a 45% in Social and Administrative Sciences is a different problem from a flat 68%. Then weight revision by the blueprint: the 35% domains deserve the most time, but the 20% Social, Behavioral and Administrative block deserves attention out of proportion to its size, because its ten sections are the ones least likely to be covered incidentally.
Practise the two-part shape at least once before test day, break included. And treat the calculations as a timed skill rather than a knowledge topic - the arithmetic is rarely hard, but setting the problem up quickly is a separate ability that only drilling builds.
Common questions
Is the SPLE in English? The applicant guide does not state a language requirement explicitly. The pharmacy references the blueprint draws on are English-language, and preparation material is generally English.
Is there negative marking? SCFHS does not publish a marking rule for wrong answers. Its applicant guide gives the pass score but says nothing about a penalty, so read the on-screen instructions at the test centre before deciding whether to leave anything blank.
Does passing the SPLE license me to practise? SCFHS describes its licensure exams as tests candidates must pass to obtain a licence to practise. The classification and registration steps themselves run through Mumaris+ and are described in the SCFHS classification and Mumaris+ guide.
Can I retake it to raise my score for residency? The applicant guide says yes - two attempts after a pass, "for the purpose of attaining a better opportunity for residency selection". The SCFHS licensure exams page describes improvement attempts differently, including an annual improvement attempt tied to the training year, so confirm the rule that applies to you with SCFHS before booking.

